UK bank holidays in 2016

Bank Holidays 2016 in United Kingdom

16 December 2015 by Anna Staford

Travel Information

Bank holidays in the United Kingdom are the days when most businesses and services close down. They were first introduced by the Bank Holidays Act of 1871 and since then there have been only 4 public holidays – Easter Monday, 1st Monday in August, Boxing Day and Whit Monday.

Nowadays England, Scotland and Wales all have eight public holidays every year, and Northern Ireland has all ten, including St. Patricks Day and Bottle of the Boyne. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day are given in lieu of Bank Holidays if they fall on weekend.

British bank holidays have always been a great time to get away from the city buzz or spend some quality time with your family. So be updated with the upcoming UK bank holidays in 2016 to plan your weekend getaways ahead.

UK bank holidays 2016

Read also: Fun Ways to Spend Autumn Weekends in the UK

Planning Your Future Trip?

Join over 20K savvy travellers reading our monthly newsletters!

We accept

Due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, we’re temporarily not offering NEW SINGLE TRIP policies. You can still buy our ANNUAL cover, or an ‘ALREADY TRAVELLING’ policy if you’re currently away. Or you can visit our travel insurance partners for a SINGLE TRIP quote. Click here for transfer to their website.

If you are you an EXISTING SINGLE TRIP CUSTOMER - To EXTEND your SINGLE TRIP policy, please contact us to get an extension BEFORE your policy expires so you have continual cover: globelink@globelink.co.uk or by +44 1353 699 082.

For notification of when Single Trip policies are available, please leave you email and we will get back in touch.